BMTC…

If there is anyone who enjoys BMTC journeys, it must be me.  One reason which i can think of, which contributes to my basking trips in BMTC is I dont have to commute daily in buses anymore. But in my college days BMTC was very important part of my life. My daily commutes to college in the bus created a special bond with them, so much so that I could recall almost all the bus numbers(not route numbers) of the buses which came in my route.
It was totally new experience to commute in BMTC during initial days of engineering. I was appalled to see people hanging to the bus with only half of their foot resting on the footboard. Daily I would sight people travelling in such a horrifying way and always feared they would hit a current pillar or another vehicle and die. Touchwood, nothing of that sort ever happened infront of my eyes.
I got used to such vistas by the time I was in 2nd year and I had started observing more significant things  happening around me. I observed greedy conductors collecting money from passengers without issuing ticket, it left me bewildered. I wondered whether they ever felt guilty of their actions at any point of time. I became aware of people taking advantage of rush and falling upon ladies  sometimes deliberately, conductors leaning on ladies in the pretense of issuing tickets etc etc… These things kinda puzzled me. 
By the time I was in mid 3rd year of engineering I had got a mobile phone with FM. My observations now moved out of the bus. Skillful Bangaloreans driving crazily in traffic amused me. It was fun to see people trying to overtake other vehicles from a distance of less than an inch. I told myself, “I am not fit to drive in this Bangalore traffic“.
These daily bonds with BMTC came to an end with the end of college life. BMTC commutes had made me aware of things around me, making me stronger and bolder. Not to forget to mention that I had even spent few hours studying on the bus. I had sometimes managed to study whole chapter in bus during exams and internals.
It is such tiny incidents which make my BMTC trips interesting and thanks to FM channels which can be refreshing, especially when you are stuck in traffic jams.

6 Responses to BMTC…

  1. sudhatanaya says:

    I like the way u pour ur emotions in ur writings… Its not big a deal to write anything.. But to commute emotions through it makes all the difference… U are pretty good at that…

    I do not much travel by BMTC… That too if i see people dangling in it… I prefer to overlook.. Its mainly coz.. my wallet was “picked” which had 2k in cash.. my credit card.. and something that i never wanted to loose… Well.. I did not realize it untill i got down at ISKCON.. i had to call my friends then to pick me up… Thanks to mobile phone inventor!! I owe him a big time… I’m practically reminded of it whenever i see a crowded bus… A lesson learnt in the first sem!!!

    Driving in Bangalore is real crazy.. I know it coz.. I’m one among the crazy drivers… The thing is.. Bangalore as a city.. unlike mysore… the infrastructure of it is not a planned one… The roads.. the flyovers.. the signals.. are messy… Bangalore would have been a haven if a little considerations were done in the earlier stages of its evolution… And now.. If we drive by rules… we reach nowhere!! 🙂

    The FM… Its a benediction…

  2. Hakuna Matata!! says:

    :)..
    Nice one..
    Keep it up.. 🙂

    I too love to travel in BMTC.. 🙂

  3. Vinayak Bhay says:

    ಬಸ್ಸಿನಲ್ಲಿ ಪ್ರಯಾಣ ನಂಗೂ ಇಷ್ಟ. ಕಾರಣ ಅದ್ಭುತವಾದ ನಿದ್ರೆ ತರಿಸುವ ತಾಕತ್ತು ಬಸ್ಸುಗಳಿಗಿದೆ.

  4. Manohar says:

    I too used to like travelling in BMTC until 3rd sem.. 😛
    after that i got my bike. later on felt, i wasted too much of time travelling in bus where i can travel in less than half of its time by bike 😀 and use that half time for sleeping.. 😀
    Travelling in BMTC has its Pros and Cons.. 😀

  5. Chethan.B says:

    hey! nice one.. again 🙂

  6. Considering that I have finished more than 70% of the books- that I have read- in BMTC buses, considering that I made 30% of my preparation for CET in BMTCs, considering that all my crushes during engineering days were some random girls I saw in BMTCs, and also considering that I have had some of the most interesting dreams in BMTCs, I have to completely agree with your post..
    BMTCs rock! And you will appreciate the awesomeness of BMTC’s services only when you commute in transport services in other Indian cities..

Leave a Reply

